not a book review.

I promise this isn’t a book review.

Over the past week, I’ve been reading My Ántonia by Willa Cather. It is superbly written- I always admire “classic” novels that are written in a way the can be just as easily read a century later (I love Jane Eyre for this same reason.)

DSC_0949-002

Some of my favorite parts of the book are the moments of reflection; those moments when Jim is just thinking to himself:

“I had the feeling that the world was left behind, that we had got over the edge of it, and were outside man’s jurisdiction. I had never before looked up at the sky when there was not a familiar mountain ridge against it. But this was the complete dome of heaven, all there was of it….I don’t think I was homesick. If we never arrived anywhere, it did not matter. Between that earth and that sky I felt erased, blotted out. “

I don’t mean to share the whole book, but i love this as well:

“As I looked about me I felt that the grass was the country, as the water is the sea. The red of the grass made all the great prairie the colour of wine-stains, or of certain seaweeds when they are first washed up. And there was so much motion in it; the whole country seemed, somehow, to be running.”

I guess what I’m trying to say is, this book has been inspiring me. inspiring me to think more about my surroundings. To reflect more, and then write about it.

It inspired me to explore places I normally just pass by.

DSC_0121-001

It inspired me not to take the sunshine for granted.

DSC_0100-001

To go outside just because.

DSC_0122-001

To feel the wind and embrace it.

DSC_0061-001

Leave a Reply

